Great Lakes Law Enforcement Committee

The Great Lakes Law Enforcement Committee serves to protect, enhance and promote the safe and wise use of the natural resources in the Great Lakes for present and future generations and in doing so, the Law Enforcement Committee is charged to:

  • Promote recognition that the Great Lakes fisheries resource is a shared, renewable resource whose protection and enhancement requires close cooperation between all jurisdictions charged with the responsibility of resource protection.
  • Promote recognition and acceptance that law enforcement is an integral part of effective Great Lakes fisheries and fisheries habitat management.
  • Promote cooperation among all Great Lakes law enforcement jurisdictions by:
    • Identifying and promoting Great Lakes law enforcement priorities and tactics;
    • Sharing of law enforcement information;
    • Supporting investigations that span jurisdictional lines;
    • Supporting development and dissemination of information about emerging enforcement technologies and techniques; and
    • Development and recommending consistent regulations and commensurate penalties among jurisdictions.
  • Provide a basin update annually to the Great Lakes Fishery Commission.
  • Ensure law enforcement information is made available for incorporation into fisheries management decision-making.
  • Participate in the management of fisheries resources and fish habitat by preventing exploitation by unlawful means.

Great Lakes Law Enforcement Committee Terms of Reference


  • Brenda Koenig, Ontario Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry, Chair
  • Brandon Fehrenbacher, Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Vice-Chair
  • Nick Torsky, Michigan Department of Natural Resources
  • Bob Stroess, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Past Chair
  • Bernie Auth, United States Coast Guard - District 9
  • John Cannarella, Indiana Department of Natural Resources
  • Thomas Edwards, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
  • Jared Kreeger, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Matt Leibengood, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
  • Roger McGeshick, Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
  • Matthew Miller, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Enforcement Division
  • Robert Robles Jr, Chippewa-Ottawa Resource Authority - Little River Band of Ottawa Indians
  • George Steele, New York Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Adrian Sturch, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Kevin Willis, Chippewa-Ottawa Resource Authority - Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians
  • Erryl Wolgemuth, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • Vacant, 1854 Treaty Authority
  • Vacant, Chippewa-Ottawa Resource Authority - Bay Mills Indian Community
  • Vacant, Chippewa-Ottawa Resource Authority - Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians
  • Vacant, Chippewa-Ottawa Resource Authority - Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

Updated Nov, 2021

1854 Treaty Authority Chippewa-Ottawa Coast Guard

Publications and Products

More publications available through the Publication Search

Press Releases

No recent press releases available.

Archived releases can be accessed through the Publication Search.